Blog Tour: Ragdoll – Daniel Cole

30259893Series: Detective William Fawkes #1
Release Date: 23rd February 2017
Publisher: Trapeze
Pages: 304
Find It: Goodreads. Amazon.


A body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together like a puppet, nicknamed by the press as the ‘ragdoll’.

Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.

The ‘Ragdoll Killer’ taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them.

With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?


This book gripped me right from the very first page, and refused to let me put it down. I must admit I read this book very quickly, partly because of the blog tour schedule, but also because I was absolutely desperate to know what happens. This is detective fiction at its very best.

This book is fantastically well written, the plot is so well paced – there’s plenty going on, but enough mystery to keep you guessing about what’s going to happen next. The book is a race against time, the action ramps up the further you get into the story, and  continually pulls you back in.  You very much get thrown in at the deep end, and Ragdoll continually leaves you wanting to know more. The characters are superbly well written. Detective Fawkes – Wolf – is a really fascinating character. He doesn’t play by the rules and is determined to catch the killer. He’s very human, he’s flawed and doesn’t always do the right thing, and that makes the story so much more enjoyable.

Ragdoll really stood out for me. Not just because it’s a fun read and a really intense crime thriller, but it was also really funny. I saw previously the book was compared to the TV show No Offence, and I think that’s really apt. It’s funny and wonderfully written. I enjoyed reading it immensely, and highly recommend it to those that love high action mystery thrillers. This is the first book in the series, and I’m so glad there’s more on the way,  I can’t wait to see what he has in store next.

Thanks for checking out my stop on the Ragdoll blog tour (and on publication day!) there are loads of great blogs also on the tour, hosting reviews and other interesting posts. Be sure to check them out below!

Leave a Reply