Blog Tour: Let Me Die in His Footsteps – Lori Roy


23398925
Release Date: June 2nd 2015
Publisher: Dutton
Pages: 336.
Find It On: Goodreads. Amazon.

the-star_318-1604the-star_318-1604the-star_318-1604the-star_318-1604

A dark and spellbinding story.

On a dark night in 1952, Annie Holleran crosses into forbidden territory. Everyone in the village knows that her family doesn’t go near the Baine place – not after what her aunt did to Joesph Baine. As Annie runs through the lavender fields she comes upon a well, one that tradition tells will show her the face of her future husband. On reaching the well she does not see any face, but something much worse. Come morning, it will change Annie’s life forever.

Welcome to my stop on the Let Me Die in His Footsteps blog tour, run by the lovely TLC Book Tours! This book had me hooked from the outset, and I absolutely loved it. This is the sort of book that I wish I could say nothing about, but urge you to read it anyway. It’s a mystery and one that should be discovered all on your own.

This book is dark and mysterious – perfect for fans of Southern Fiction. It has that right amount of history, and a small touch of something paranormal. It jumps between the events of Annie’s time, and the the series of events that occur between her aunt Juna and the Baine family. The reader is slowly taken on a journey, receiving little snippets of information bit by bit.

The characters are well crafted, and the book was well paced. I found Roy’s writing style very different, but also very engaging. This is my first time reading one of her novels, but I will definitely be adding her other books to my list. This book is gripping, tense and chilling. It’s definitely a book that will stay with you long after you’re finished reading.

One of the interesting things about this book is you don’t quite know what you’re getting yourself in for when you pick it up. Reading the blurb it almost sounds like a simple historical fiction novel, but in reality it is so much more. Prepare to be sucked in almost instantly, I know I was.

Also I must mention the glorious cover. It perfectly sums up the novel, dark, beautiful and a little strange. This is definitely one of my top books in 2015 so far, so make sure you add it to your reading lists, you won’t regret it. That concludes my stop on the tour, and be sure to check out the other stops as well, which you can check out here!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Let Me Die in His Footsteps – Lori Roy