Blog Tour: Wanderers – Chuck Wendig

Blog Tour: Wanderers – Chuck Wendig

Release Date: July 11th 2019
Publisher: Solaris
Pages: 800
Find it on: Goodreads. BookDepository. Waterstones.
Source: I was sent a copy for this book by Tracy @ Compulsive Readers
Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world’s last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other “shepherds” who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead.

For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it. As the rest of society collapses all around them–and an ultraviolent militia threatens to exterminate them–the fate of the sleepwalkers depends on unraveling the mystery behind the epidemic. The terrifying secret will either tear the nation apart–or bring the survivors together to remake a shattered world.

Review

I have always wanted to read a book by Chuck Wendig and I was so excited when I got an email about The Wanderers. The book is absolutely massive but honestly I think this is the quickest I’ve ever read an 800 page book. It was exciting, intense and everything I wanted and more.

The story follows a young girl who wakes up one morning and discovers her sister, vacant eyed and unresponsive but somehow still walking. She is soon joined by other ‘sleepwalkers’ and the strange disease spreads the cast of characters attempt to work out exactly what’s causing the sleepwalking.

This might be my first Chuck Wendig book, but it is definitely not my last. I got completely hooked on this story, it was fast paced and so addictive. I really liked the writing style and I’m absolutely planning to order Chuck Wendig’s back catalogue.

I really liked the characters in this story – Shana the daughter who has always lived in her sisters shadow, but is still desperate to protect her. She was really fascinating and I found her a really likeable main character. There’s a really vivid and interesting mix of characters and I really enjoyed the disgraced CDC doctor trying to find redemption storyline. I really appreciated that the book was on the longer side, it really gave you the chance to get to know the characters.

If you’re looking for a fresh take on the mysterious disease sweeping the nation story, this is absolutely one to pick up. It’s an exhilarating ride and I enjoyed every minute of it.

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Wanderers – Chuck Wendig

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.