Book Review: Prisoner of Ice and Snow – Ruth Lauren

Book Review: Prisoner of Ice and Snow – Ruth Lauren

BOOK REVIEW - 2019-03-28T231011.014.png
Series:
Prisoner of Ice and Snow #1
Release Date: September 7th 2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 288
Find it on: Goodreads. BookDepository. Waterstones.
Source: The publisher kindly sent me a copy of this book to review.
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Synopsis

Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.

But that’s exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside.

No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison …

An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable.

Review

book cover - 2019-03-28T230803.617This is a beautifully written story about the friendship between two sisters. It’s an engaging, enjoyable story, and one I think a lot of people will really love. The plot is full of twists and turns and has that perfect blend of action and plot that fantasy fans will just love.

The main character Valor is a brave, determined young lady, and she’ll do anything to help her sister – even commit a crime. I admired her strength and courage, she’s a wonderful leading lady and I think she would be a fantastic role model for younger children reading A Prisoner of Ice and Snow. There are a few smaller characters that I would like to get to know as well as Valor, but perhaps that will come along later in the series.

The prison that Valor and her sister end up in is certainly a horrible one, and they depictions of the different settings – most notably the prison – is certainly vivid and well laid out. At only two hundred and eighty eight pages the book is quite a quick read, but there is plenty to keep you guessing and wanting more. If you’re looking for a fun enjoyable MG fantasy, Prisoner of Ice and Snow is definitely a book to pick up. I for one am particularly looking forward to seeing what’s next in store for the series!
4 stars

Blog Tour: The Caged Queen – Kirsten Ciccarelli

Blog Tour: The Caged Queen – Kirsten Ciccarelli

BOOK REVIEW (44)Series: Iskari #2
Release Date: 25th September 2018
Publisher: Gollancz
Pages: 400
Find it on: Goodreads. BookDepository. Waterstones.

Synopsis

Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. When they were angry, mirrors shattered, and when they were happy, flowers bloomed. It was a magic they cherished—until the day a terrible accident took Essie’s life and trapped her soul in this world.

Dax—the heir to Firgaard’s throne—was responsible for the accident. Roa swore to hate him forever. But eight years later he returned, begging for her help. He was determined to dethrone his cruel father, under whose oppressive reign Roa’s people had suffered. Roa made him a deal: she’d give him the army he needed if he made her queen.

Together with Dax and his sister, Asha, Roa and her people waged war and deposed a tyrant. But now Asha is on the run, hiding from the price on her head. And Roa is an outlander queen, far from home and married to her enemy. Worst of all: Dax’s promises go unfulfilled. Roa’s people continue to suffer.

Then a chance to right every wrong arises—an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Reliquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa can reclaim her sister for good.

All she has to do is kill the king.

Review

I was so excited for the release of The Caged Queen. I absolutely adored the world Ciccarelli created in The Last Namsara and this second instalment definitely didn’t disappoint.

book cover (19)Fast paced and action packed, The Caged Queen follows a different point of view character this time around. We also get to stay characters from the previous instalment and it was great to revisit the characters I’ve grown attached to. They are well developed and it’s great to see them grow and develop as the story continues on. One of the things I love about this story is that the characters are scheming, looking to take power or advance their cause. It makes for a really interesting set of dynamics and something that Ciccarelli does incredibly well. It was also great to get more history about Roa and the other characters from the series.

The Caged Queen has plenty of political intrigue and mixing this with the history and backstory for the world and the character makes for a really engrossing tapestry. The Last Namsara was more action based, with dragons and fighting whilst this instalment was much more politics focused, bringing in the trials and schemes of court life. I really love the author’s writing style and think that this is a really fantastic new fantasy series. Ciccarelli has done a magnificent job with this second instalment and I’m so excited to see how the story is going to continue in The Sky Weaver.
5 stars