Waiting on Wednesday: The Trials of Koli – M. R. Carey

Waiting on Wednesday: The Trials of Koli – M. R. Carey

Header (37)
Synopsis

The journey through M. R. Carey’s “immersive, impeccably rendered world” (Kirkus) — a world in which nature has turned against us — continues in The Trials of Koli, book two of the Rampart Trilogy.
The earth wants to swallow us whole…
Koli has been cast out from Mythen Rood. Behind him are his family and the safety of the known. Ahead, the embrace of the deadly forests awaits.
But Koli heard a story, once. A story about lost London, where the tech of old times was so plentiful it was just lying on the streets. And if he can safely lead Ursula, Cup and Monono to this sparkling city, maybe he can save the rest of humanity, too.
In a world where a journey of two miles is an odyssey, he’s going to walk two hundred. But the city is not what it once was…and around him, Ingland is facing something it hasn’t seen in three centuries: war.

Thoughts

Copy of book cover (76)The Trials of Koli is the second instalment in the Rampart Trilogy and I am so excited for its release. I read and loved The Book of Koli a few months ago and I absolutely loved it. The story ended on a bit of a cliffhanger so I’m so excited to see where the next instalment takes us. Carey has created such a fascinating world in this series and as soon as I finished book one I was desperate for more. The characters are also brilliant in this one and if you want to read my full review of this you can check it out here! M R Carey is an author I definitely want to read more from and I think I might try some of his back catalogue while I’m waiting on the release of The Trials of Koli. Not too much longer to go though, the book is publishing September 15th from Orbit Books.

Blog Tour: The Book of Koli – M. R. Carey

Blog Tour: The Book of Koli – M. R. Carey

July 23, 2019 (6)
Series:
Rampart Trilogy #1
Release Date: April 14th 2020
Publisher: Orbit Books
Pages: 416
Find it on: Goodreads. BookDepository. Waterstones.
Source: The publisher kindly sent me a copy of this book through Compulsive Readers
Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis

Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable world. A world where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly vines and seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don’t get you, one of the dangerous shunned men will.

Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He knows the first rule of survival is that you don’t venture beyond the walls.

What he doesn’t know is – what happens when you aren’t given a choice?

The first in a gripping new trilogy, The Book of Koli charts the journey of one unforgettable young boy struggling to find his place in a chilling post-apocalyptic world. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and Annihilation.

Review

Copy of book cover (7)The Book of Koli is the first instalment in an all new post-apocalyptic series by M. R. Carey. The story follows Koli as he attempts to survive in his village of Mythen Rood. The rules are clear – don’t go beyond the walls and don’t let the trees get too close. When Koli doesn’t get a choice but to go beyond the walls it will take all his strength to survive this deadly landscape.

The Book of Koli is a clever and engaging read, with such a unique and fascinating premise. The idea of trees that were trying to kill people was definitely part of what intrigued me to pick this one up. Carey has created an incredible world in this book. Set in the future when there is only a small amount of old world tech left, the villagers must do everything they can to survive. The world building is excellent, with Carey laying lots of groundwork to give the reader a chance to get to know the world.

The story opens with Koli at fifteen, learning his place in the world. He’s a brilliant protagonist and I immediately found myself rooting for him and I really enjoyed seeing him mature as the story progressed. The story is told from Koli’s perspective as if he is reflecting back on his life, which was also really interesting. The writing style took me a little while to get used as but after a little while I really got engrossed in Koli’s tale.

The Book of Koli is a fast paced read with the first half giving the reader the chance to get to know the world and the second half ramping up the action. It’s an engrossing and addictive read, and I can’t wait to read the next instalment in the trilogy.
4 Stars
Book-of-Koli-blog-tour-